Sole Cakes on Pandanus and Cucumber Fish Jelly

For this month’s Daring Cooks challenge, I had to buy a really fresh fish but since I am not going to use the whole thing for the challenge, I further challenged myself to create a complete dish using every single part of the fish. The post for Daring Cooks March will be revealed in a weeks time but for now, this is what I made with the rest of the fish.

I picked sole because it is something I’ve not really worked with but it is one that’s rather easy to handle. Honestly, I do not have a clue if I actually bought a sole, although that was what it was labelled at the fishmonger, and fishmongers here are known for using the terms sole, flounder and halibut interchangeably. My biggest challenge was filleting it. I can de-bone a duck blindfolded, and I’d hack a sheep if I have to, but I get a little traumatised when I have to handle a fish with skin on. Not to mention, Mrs Sole had angry red eyes, and she’s a missus because she’s pregnant!

I managed to separate the fish into bones, roe, a fillet, diced pieces, and what was supposed to look like sashimi slices. The fillet will go to the fridge to be breaded and fried some time in the future, the sashimi for the Daring Cooks challenge. The bones, roe and diced meat would be transformed into this:

This dish consist of a fish cake made with the diced meat and roe and deep fried fish bone with tumeric served on a cold fish jelly infused with pandanus and cucumber. It was simple and used only a few ingredients that compliments the sweetness of fresh fish.

Pandan and Cucumber Fish Jelly

Ingredients (makes 4 servings):

1 fish head and tail

500 ml light clear stock

a knot of pandanus leaves

1 Japanese cucumber sliced into 1cm thickness

3 tsp gelatine

salt

Method:

Combine fish pieces, stock and pandanus leave in a pot and simmer very gently for 30 minutes, skimming the surface every 5 mins.

Add cucumbers and cook for another 15 minutes. Add salt to taste, remove from head and pour it through a chinois.

Whisk in the gelatine and pour it through the chinois again.

Pour the stock into 4 individual soup plates, arranging a few cucumbers in each and leave it to cool and set in the fridge.

 

Deep-fried Fish Bones

Ingredients:

Sole fish bones

Plain flour

Pinch of tumeric

Salt, Pepper

Cooking oil

Method:

Dry the fish bone with paper towel. Mix plain flour, tumeric, salt and pepper in a bowl. Coat fish bones with flour mixture and deep fry in hot oil until golden brown.

 

 

 

 

Sole Cakes

Ingredients (makes 4):

500g fish meat

1 sac of fish roe (optional)

1 tbsp corn flour

1 tbsp fish stock

1 tbsp finely chopped scallion

1/3 tbsp finely chopped red chilli

1/2 tsp salt

good pinch of pepper

Method:

Carefully remove the other membrane of the roe. Add fish roe and fish meat into a food processor and pulse until it is coarsely paste-like.

Transfer to a bowl and add the rest of the ingredients.

Mix well and pick up paste with one hand and throw it back into the bowl so hard you can hear a loud smack.

Repeat that a few times and paste will get a smooth surface.

Scoop paste into 6cm ring moulds and smooth the surface with the back of a teaspoon.

Cook them in the oven for 15 mins at 170 degrees C.

Allow cakes to cool before serving them on the jelly.

Garnish the plate with some vegetables and I personally find asparagus or bok choy to go really well with this dish.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
7 Responses to “Sole Cakes on Pandanus and Cucumber Fish Jelly”
  1. Joyce Lim says:

    LOL Mrs Sole does look fierce. Interesting deep-frying of the bones! Another unique point was how the fish cake was the centrepiece, when in Singapore it’s almost always a side ingredient. Am looking forward to reading about your daring cook’s entry!

    • foodandscent says:

      I think the reason why fish cakes can never be the centrepiece here is because they are made with ridiculous amounts of MSG and salt. They are effortless to make at home and you can do them without adding any addictives.

      I look forward to sharing with you my daring cook’s entry too! I am rather proud of them and I can’t wait to post it.

  2. Manu says:

    This recipe is genial! I love how you used all parts of the fish! And the presentation is, as usual, outstanding. I really really like it! :-)))))

    • foodandscent says:

      Thanks Manu. I believe in respecting what you cook and that includes utilizing as much of what you can out of a produce. Same reason why I’ll never order shark’s fin soup, unless the restaurant serves the rest of the shark.

  3. I agree so much, I it is so important to use everything, and I think you have done so in an amazing manner. It looks stunning, I wish the internet had a “sample” option šŸ™‚

  4. Cakewhiz says:

    Wow! This looks wonderful. It’s great how you used all the parts of that fish and and your presentation is outstanding!

  5. The fish bones look so pretty deep-fried! What a creative idea – looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

  • wordpress blog stats
