Decadent Umeshu Konnyaku Jelly

All good things must come to an end and this time, it is my bottle of Extra Years aged Choya umeshu. Getting to the bottom of the bottle is rather exciting, because this means I can finally dig those divine plums out and do something with them. Considering they’re more than half my age, it is only right that they are utilized with respect, in this case, keeping the original taste and pairing it with something equally decadent.

I must have gotten tipsy while fishing them out and chopping them because there were 6 plums, and I needed 24 servings, which makes means quartering, but I ended up chopping them into eighths for the first 2 plums. Alcohol and maths do not go hand in hand. The aged plums are surprisingly firm, and very intoxicating.

Since I still had a little plum wine left, I thought I’d turn them into konnaku jellies – a fantastic way to share these little gems. To emphasize that they’re extra special, I forsee them swimming in a sea of gold.

Making them is easy peasy. Dissolve the jelly powder in water according to the box directions, pour them into moulds and they set within an hour in the fridge.

I blended 3 sheets of gold leaves with 100 mls of water and then mixing it with 850 ml of water and 50 ml of plum wine. Once this boiled, I poured in 2 boxes of jelly powder, gave it a good stir for 5 mins and poured it into my mould.

After filling all my moulds, I added a piece of plum. They set really quickly so if you’re doing a huge batch, you might want to be fast with the plums.

They are decadent, divine, delicious and desirable. Give this a try when you need to impress those discerning guests.

Comments
21 Responses to “Decadent Umeshu Konnyaku Jelly”
  1. Eugene I’ve never seen anything like this. Absolutely goregous. Like beautiful jewels.

  2. saltyseattle says:

    Where did you get the sheets of gold leaf? Love this idea…

    • foodandscent says:

      Hey Linda, we got them in bulk in Thailand more than 10 years ago when gold was a lot cheaper. They come in stacks of 2″X2″. You can also find gold food glitter these days but I really love how organic the gold leaves look in suspension.

  3. these are awesome. the plums remind me of something i used to eat when i was little. they look really beautiful. well done!

  4. Manu says:

    These jellies look soooooo BEAUTIFUL! Th idea of mixing the jelly powder with golden leaf is just brilliant. I love to idea of eating something precious (in this case both the plums and the golden leaf! ;-)). Well done!

  5. oh i love those plums! i love the crunchy ones too… those are such cute molds – only in asia can u find such things. πŸ˜‰ beautiful jellies, eugene…i wish i could taste one. =P

  6. Elin says:

    Hey Eugene…you have a lovely blog. I salute guys who can cook πŸ™‚ And btw I am from Ipoh.

    Your konnyaku jelly is devine. I can imagine the taste in my mind….it will definitely impress the guests too πŸ™‚

    Cheers,
    Elin

  7. Tiffany says:

    Oh, what a great idea! I worked in a Japanese restaurant for two years and saw my fair share of Choya! πŸ˜€ What a great use of the actual plums!

  8. Joyce Lim says:

    Love the golden flecks!

  9. Charissa says:

    These are so pretty! Oh, I love them so much!

  10. jamestay says:

    you could try putting the pot in a warm bath to keep it nice and liquidy while ladling them out into the moulds

  11. Peta says:

    These look so beautiful

  12. maameemoomoo says:

    Lovely blog u have here!

    And oooOoo! Konnyaku Jelly! Love the gold speckles.. 3 sheets of gold leaves? Boy, u are generous! πŸ˜‰

    ps : are u also Singaporean?

    • foodandscent says:

      Thank you. Yes I’m Singaporean and I really like your blog and recipes too! Sorry for the late reply .. I’ve not been able to access this for the last 2 days

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Recipe at Food&Scent 0 I like This […]



Leave a Reply

  • wordpress blog stats
