Lychee Macarons, with a hint of Peach

I’ve learnt a lot from this batch of macarons and that is they make me nervous every single time despite how familiar I am with them. I’ve also learnt that you should really only use aged egg whites and if you can’t afford to wait a day or two, then don’t bother making them. Lastly, Glad non-stick baking paper is the only brand that I will use from now on. I was using a silicon-coated ‘non-stick’ cooking paper from Daiso and it was so ‘amazing’ that it even stuck to my baking tray.

Despite the challenge in peeling them off the paper, they turned out pretty well and were thinner and more fragile than my previous pineapple macarons but that’s okay since I would be using a buttercream filling. The macarons are slightly scented with peach essence and the buttercream is luxuriously lychee.

Peachy Macarons Shell

Ingredients (makes about 30):

3 large egg whites (left at room temperature for at least 5 hours or leave it overnight in the fridge)
200 g icing sugar
100 g  almond meal
50 g caster sugar
0.5 tsp natural peach flavour

Method:

Preheat oven to 150 degrees C and line baking tray with parchment paper. Combine icing sugar and almond meal in a large bowl. Sieve mixture and mix well.

Using an electric mixer, beat egg whites until stiff peaks form. Gradually add in sugar while still beating until white stiff and smooth. Add peach essence and mix well.

Combine egg white with almond meal mixture and fold vigorously to mix well. Pour mixture into a piping bag and pipe out even circles making sure there’s adequate room between each circle.

Tap tray or knock against table to remove air bubbles and slightly flatten them. Leave it at room temperature for 15 minutes. The skin should be dry to touch after 15 minutes and you can add sprinkles or paint colours on it if you like. Leave it to bake in the oven at 150 degrees C for about 15 minutes.

Let it cool and carefully peel it off parchment paper.


Lychee Buttercream

Ingredients:

250 g butter at room temperature

4 tbsp lychee juice (more if you are in a colder climate)

1 tsp milk powder

0.5 cup icing sugar

1 tsp lychee flavour

 

Method:

Beat butter with a stand mixer until creamy.

Dissolve milk powder and lychee flavour into lychee juice and slowly add to butter while beating. Depending on your humidity, you may increase the amount of juice.

Slowly beat in the icing sugar until you get a smooth buttercream with stiff peaks. If buttercream is too hard, you can soften it by adding a little light corn syrup.

Pipe into your macarons and store them in an air tight container in the fridge. Macarons are best enjoyed the next day.

 

Comments
17 Responses to “Lychee Macarons, with a hint of Peach”
  1. Charissa says:

    Hey, that looks yummy. I would never have thought of using lychee in that! Nice!

  2. nice! i’ve made lychee swiss meringue buttercream w/ the syrup from canned lychees. =P i see your buttercream has milk powder in it – i’ve never seen that before… is it more for flavor or to help bind everything together?

    and re: your comment above – durian?? really? you can actually stand to be around the odor? lol!

    • foodandscent says:

      I used canned lychees for this too! I popped a few of them into the blender and voila, lychee juice without the tartness. I experimented with milk powder for a few reasons (and it worked so much better than just using plain milk) – I didn’t want it to get too runny; the vanilla-ish scent in the powder compliments the lychee; and I can control how milky I want it to be.
      I love durian !! Like cheese, the stronger the better! Crepes with durian cream is da bomb!

      • ohh i see… i’ll have to go pick up some milk powder and try this next time, thanks for the tip! oh boy… those better be some really great crepes… maybe one day, i’ll muster up the courage to try durian. =P

  3. Vanessa says:

    These look really good – I’ve never had macarons with lychee, but they sound great!

  4. Tiffany says:

    Lychee buttercream sounds amazing! Where does one get lychee flavoring?

    • foodandscent says:

      If you can get find the baking flavours online, you can use lychee liqueur, or even lychee syrup from the Asian grocers, but I’d recommend buying the baking flavours because they are great to use in so many desserts.

      • Jen L. says:

        I love lychee! My neighbor had a big tree in his backyard and we’d stuff ourselves full. Are you using Nature’s Flavors by chance?

      • foodandscent says:

        Lucky you! I visited a lychee plantation in Queensland and I really wanted to bring a tree home. I used a natural flavour produced by a local company here in Singapore. Is the nature’s flavour you’re referring to naturesflavour.com? I’ve not heard of them but I will definitely try them out.

  5. krimkus says:

    What a pretty presentation. The glaze is so perfect and the macaroons look absolutely light and airy.

    Kristi

  6. Cakewalker says:

    Eugene, the peach and lychee together must be heavenly! I really enjoy your blog and I present to you a STYLISH BLOGGER AWARD! Please take this link to my post to see the details. http://bit.ly/i5cUlV Best, Brooks

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] used the same recipe that can be found in my Lychee Macarons post, substituting 1/4 of the ground almonds with ground black sesame. The buttercream follows the same […]



Leave a Reply

  • wordpress blog stats
