Duck Ballotine with Coconut Garlic Pureé

Julie Powell saved de-boning a duck for the last but I’d do it first if I have my way. Perhaps it’s my sadistic streak, I do enjoy dissecting and skinning for cooking and once you get the hang of it, it is not that difficult. Taking a whole duck (or any other animal) apart is a very efficient way of using your produce. The boneless skin and flesh would become my duck ballotine, the carcass gets turned into stock, the fats rendered and kept in a jar, bits of fallen meat became my supper and random bone parts made my dog very happy.

Ingredients:

1 whole duck

stuffing:

1 cup cooked chestnuts

1 cup duck liver

1 cup loosely chopped spinach leaves

1 shallot finely chopped

salt,pepper

coconut garlic pureé:

fresh meat of 1 young coconut

6 cloves of garlic

50 ml duck stock

1 tbsp red wine vinegar

salt, pepper

 

Method:

Preheat oven to 220 degrees C (425 degrees F)

Wash clean and pat dry duck.

De-bone and butterfly the duck making sure the skin is not pierced.

Personally, I found it easiest just using a heavy duty kitchen scissors and my bare hands. Salt and pepper the inside and leave it aside.

For a crisp skin, I used a hook and hanged it up to dry with a bowl underneath to collect the drippings while I prepare the stuffing.

For the stuffing, dump everything into a food processor except the spinach.

Pulse until it turns paste like and remove from processor.

Add in the spinach leaves and mix gently.

Lay duck skin side down on a flat surface and spoon mixture evenly along the midline.

Fold one side over and overlap the other side.

Loop and tie away using cotton twine.

While I am a master at dissecting, I have to apologise for my embarrassing rope skills.

Roast in oven for 90 minutes or until skin is deliciously crispy. Remember to leave a tray filled with water under the duck to collect the drippings.

Now it’s time to prepare the pureé.

Heat a skillet with duck fat and brown the garlics.

Remove from heat and pop it into a blender along with the coconut meat, duck stock, vinegar, salt and pepper.

Blend until smooth.

Warm up pureé before serving.

Comments
4 Responses to “Duck Ballotine with Coconut Garlic Pureé”
  1. wow so fancy!! it looks so juicy…i love duck… but i think i’ll leave the preparing to the professionals… like you! 😉

    • foodandscent says:

      It’s not as hard as it looks, really. The deboning part can be a bit daunting but if you let your fingers do the work, you’d be surprise how easy it is. Otherwise I’m sure your butcher will be glad to do it.

  2. Cakewalker says:

    Perfect utilization of fowl here! The dish is elegant, yet tangible to the every day cook.

Leave a Reply

  • wordpress blog stats
